What size power station do you need?
For the essentials, about 630 Wh gets you through an evening and about 2,520 Wh through a full day. Pick what you want to keep running and the calculator sizes it for you, with matched models from EcoFlow, Jackery, Bluetti, Anker SOLIX and ALLPOWERS.
A typical evening outage
Fridge, Wi-Fi, LED lights and two phones for 6 hours
- Fridge360 Wh
- Phones30 Wh
- Wi-Fi router72 Wh
- LED lights72 Wh
- Losses and rounding96 Wh
- Free, with the answer straight away. No email needed.
- Every result shows its maths.
- Specs from each manufacturer’s own pages, checked 16 October 2026.
- Picks come from the numbers, not from which brand pays more.
More free tools
What do common outage plans need?
Each row is the calculator run on a typical plan. Open any row to change it to your own list.
| Plan | Battery | Start-up peak | Calculator’s pick | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Evening outage: fridge, Wi-Fi, lights, phones | 630 Wh | 972 W | Anker SOLIX C800 Plus | Open this plan |
| Full day: fridge, Wi-Fi, lights, phones | 2,520 Wh | 972 W | EcoFlow DELTA Pro | Open this plan |
| Work from home for a day: laptop, Wi-Fi, lights, phones | 1,390 Wh | 137 W | Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v2 | Open this plan |
| CPAP (no heater) and phones for 6 hours | 320 Wh | 80 W | Anker SOLIX C800 Plus | Open this plan |
| Fridge and chest freezer for a full day | 2,970 Wh | 1,000 W | EcoFlow DELTA Pro | Open this plan |
| Fridge only for three days, with a solar panel | 2,620 Wh | 900 W | EcoFlow DELTA Pro | Open this plan |
| Gas furnace fan for an evening | 1,770 Wh | 900 W | Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v2 | Open this plan |
| Sump pump for a full day | 4,240 Wh | 1,500 W | A generator is the better fit | Open this plan |
| Three days of essentials, with a solar panel | 5,070 Wh | 972 W | A generator is the better fit | Open this plan |
How do the 15 power stations compare?
Sorted by battery size. “Fridge alone” is how long each runs a typical fridge with nothing else plugged in. The pick column shows which of the plans above each model wins in the calculator.
| Model | Battery | Output | Fridge alone | Weight | Warranty | Calculator’s pick for | Not for you if |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow River 3 PlusPre-order on 14 Oct | 286 Wh | 600 W 1,200 W surge | 4.1 h | 10 lb | not stated | none of these plans | You have a sump pump: it can’t start a typical one You want to use a microwave: under 1,100 W output You want the warranty in writing: not stated on the maker’s page |
| Jackery Explorer 300 v2Sold out on 14 Oct | 288 Wh | 300 W 600 W surge | can’t start | 8 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | You need to run a fridge: it can’t start one You have a sump pump: it can’t start a typical one You want to use a microwave: under 1,100 W output |
| Jackery Explorer 600 v2Sold out on 14 Oct | 640 Wh | 500 W 1,000 W surge | 9.1 h | 14 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | You have a sump pump: it can’t start a typical one You want to use a microwave: under 1,100 W output |
| EcoFlow River 2 ProPre-order on 14 Oct | 768 Wh | 800 W 1,600 W surge | 11 h | 18 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | You want to use a microwave: under 1,100 W output |
| Anker SOLIX C800 Plus | 768 Wh | 1,200 W 1,600 W surge | 11 h | 24 lb | 5 yr | Evening outage essentialsCPAP for a night | – |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic | 1,024 Wh | 1,800 W surge not stated | 15 h | 27 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | You need a published surge rating: the maker doesn’t state one |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 | 1,056 Wh | 1,800 W 2,400 W surge | 15 h | 28 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | – |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2Availability unclear on 14 Oct | 1,070 Wh | 1,500 W 3,000 W surge | 15 h | 24 lb | not stated | none of these plans | You want the warranty in writing: not stated on the maker’s page |
| Bluetti AC180 | 1,152 Wh | 1,800 W 2,700 W surge | 16 h | 35 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | – |
| ALLPOWERS R1500 | 1,152 Wh | 1,800 W 3,000 W surge | 16 h | 37 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | – |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 MaxPre-order on 14 Oct | 2,048 Wh | 2,400 W 4,800 W surge | 29 h | 50 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | You need to carry it: 50 lb |
| Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v2 | 2,048 Wh | 2,400 W 4,800 W surge | 29 h | 41 lb | 5 yr | Working from home for a dayFurnace fan for an evening | – |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro | 3,600 Wh | 3,600 W 7,200 W surge | 2.1 days | 99 lb | not stated | A full day of essentialsFridge and freezer for a dayFridge for 3 days with solar | You need to carry it: 99 lb You want the warranty in writing: not stated on the maker’s page |
| Anker SOLIX F3800 | 3,840 Wh | 6,000 W 9,000 W surge | 2.3 days | 132 lb | 5 yr | none of these plans | You need to carry it: 132 lb |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 | 4,096 Wh | 4,000 W 8,000 W surge | 2.4 days | not stated | 5 yr | none of these plans | – |
Specs from each manufacturer’s product page, checked 16 October 2026. Stock notes are from the same date and change often. See the full runtime chart for every appliance.
How does the calculator work?
What you keep on
Each item has a typical average draw. A fridge is rated around 150 W, but its compressor switches on and off, so over a day it averages about 60 W.
For how long
Average draw × hours gives the energy you need. We add inverter losses (18%) and round up to a real battery size.
Can it start it?
Fridges, pumps and furnace fans spike when they start. The station’s output and surge ratings must cover that, so we check both.
How long will a power station run…?
Questions people ask before buying
What size power station do I need for a power outage?
For the essentials (fridge, Wi-Fi, LED lights and two phones) you need about 630 Wh to get through an evening and about 2,520 Wh for a full day. Add anything bigger, such as a freezer, CPAP or furnace fan, and the number rises; the calculator above adds it up for your list.
How long will a 1,000 Wh power station run a fridge?
About 14 hours. A typical fridge averages around 60 W because its compressor cycles, and a 1,000 Wh battery delivers about 850 Wh after inverter losses.
What size power station do I need for a fridge?
For one evening (6 hours) a fridge needs about 424 Wh of battery; for a full day about 1,694 Wh. The station also needs enough surge output for the compressor to start, usually around 900 W.
What is the difference between Wh and W?
Watt-hours (Wh) is how much energy the battery holds: how long it lasts. Watts (W) is how much power it can deliver at once: what it can run. You need enough of both.
Why does the calculator add about 15% to my total?
Because turning battery power into household AC power loses energy in the inverter. We assume 85% efficiency, which is typical, so a 1,000 Wh battery delivers about 850 Wh to your devices.
Can a power station run a sump pump?
Yes, if it can supply the start-up spike: a typical sump pump runs at about 800 W and needs about 1,500 W for a moment when it starts. How long it lasts depends on how often the pump cycles; at an average of 150 W, a 1,000 Wh station gives about 5.7 hours.
Can a power station run a space heater?
Only briefly. A space heater draws about 1,500 W on high and averages around 750 W as the thermostat cycles, so a 1,000 Wh station lasts about 1.1 hours. For heat through a long outage, a generator or a gas furnace with its fan on battery is the realistic route.
Can a power station run a CPAP all night?
Usually yes. Most CPAPs draw 30–60 W without the heated humidifier, so a 300 Wh station covers one night with some margin. The humidifier can double or triple the draw. Check your machine's label and keep a margin for any medical device.
Is a power station or a generator better for a power outage?
A power station is better for essentials; a generator is better for big loads. A power station is silent, needs no fuel and is safe to use indoors, so it suits fridges, phones, Wi-Fi, lights and CPAPs. For whole-house loads, electric heating or outages of several days, a generator is usually cheaper. Never run a fuel generator indoors or in a garage.
Can I use a power station indoors?
Yes. A battery power station gives off no fumes, so it is safe to use inside, unlike a fuel generator. Keep it on a dry, flat surface with its vents clear.
Why are all the models on this page LiFePO4?
Because current power stations from these five brands use LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate) batteries. They last many more charge cycles than older lithium-ion packs and are more stable, which matters for something that sits ready for years between outages.