How we calculate
The calculator uses three numbers per appliance and two per power station. Here is every one of them.
Energy: how big the battery must be
For each item: average draw (W) × hours. We add them up, subtract any solar top-up, then divide by 0.85 for inverter losses. Example: a fridge at 60 W average for 6 hours is 360 Wh; ÷ 0.85 = 424 Wh of battery.
Output: what it can run at once
We add the running watts of everything you picked, then add the biggest start-up spike on top. A station qualifies only if its continuous output covers the running total and its surge rating covers the spike. Where a manufacturer doesn't state a surge rating, we use its continuous rating, which is the safe assumption.
Solar
If you tick solar, we assume a 200 W panel puts back about 700 Wh on a sunny day, for each full day of your plan. Cloudy days give less.
Picks
- Our pick: the smallest station that covers your whole plan with a 10% margin (batteries lose a little capacity with age and in the cold) and can start everything on it. If that model is sold out we pick the next one up.
- Spend less: a smaller station from another brand that covers at least half your hours.
- Room to grow: a larger station from another brand with at least 15% more battery.
- Above about 4,200 Wh we recommend a generator instead, because it costs less for loads that size.
Appliance values
Typical figures. Your own device's label is better: check the watts on the plug or nameplate.
| Appliance | Running | Average | Start-up surge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fridge | 150 W | 60 W | 900 |
| Phones (2) | 20 W | 5 W | – |
| Wi-Fi router | 12 W | 12 W | – |
| LED lights (4) | 40 W | 12 W | – |
| CPAP (no heater) | 60 W | 40 W | – |
| Chest freezer | 100 W | 45 W | 700 |
| Laptop | 65 W | 20 W | – |
| TV | 80 W | 25 W | – |
| Gas furnace fan | 500 W | 250 W | 900 |
| Sump pump | 800 W | 150 W | 1500 |
| Space heater | 1500 W | 750 W | – |
| Microwave (short use) | 1100 W | 15 W | – |
| Well pump (1/2 hp) | 1000 W | 50 W | 2000 |
| Electric blanket (queen) | 100 W | 50 W | – |
| Box fan | 75 W | 60 W | – |
| CPAP with heated humidifier | 120 W | 80 W | – |
| RV fridge (on AC power) | 180 W | 70 W | 600 |
| RV air conditioner (13,500 BTU) | 1800 W | 1200 W | 2800 |
| Window AC (10,000 BTU) | 1200 W | 900 W | 2400 |
| Central AC (3-ton) | 3500 W | 2000 W | 6000 |
| Electric water heater | 4500 W | 1000 W | – |
| Washing machine | 1000 W | 100 W | 2300 |
| Electric dryer | 5400 W | 500 W | 6750 |
| Coffee maker | 600 W | 25 W | – |
Power stations we compare
Specs from each manufacturer's own product page, checked 16 October 2026. Stock changes often; discontinued models are removed.
| Model | Battery (Wh) | Output (W) | Surge (W) | Chemistry | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow River 3 Plus | 286 | 600 | 1,200 | LiFePO4 | not stated |
| Jackery Explorer 300 v2 | 288 | 300 | 600 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| Jackery Explorer 600 v2 | 640 | 500 | 1,000 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| EcoFlow River 2 Pro | 768 | 800 | 1,600 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| Anker SOLIX C800 Plus | 768 | 1,200 | 1,600 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic | 1,024 | 1,800 | not stated | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 | 1,056 | 1,800 | 2,400 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 | 1,070 | 1,500 | 3,000 | LiFePO4 | not stated |
| Bluetti AC180 | 1,152 | 1,800 | 2,700 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| ALLPOWERS R1500 | 1,152 | 1,800 | 3,000 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max | 2,048 | 2,400 | 4,800 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v2 | 2,048 | 2,400 | 4,800 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro | 3,600 | 3,600 | 7,200 | LiFePO4 | not stated |
| Anker SOLIX F3800 | 3,840 | 6,000 | 9,000 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 | 4,096 | 4,000 | 8,000 | LiFePO4 | 5 yr |
Generators
For the generator sizer we add up the running watts of everything you want on at the same time, then add the single biggest start-up extra (starting watts minus running watts) on top, because motors start one at a time. That is the standard sizing rule Generac publishes. A generator qualifies when its running watts cover the total with a 10% margin and its starting watts cover the peak, on the fuel you chose (propane ratings are lower). If anything on your list usually runs on 240 V, only generators with a 120/240 V outlet qualify.
Water and food
Water: 1 gallon per person per day (Ready.gov), doubled for very hot weather. Food: 2,000 calories per adult per day (the FDA label basis) and 1,400 per child (our assumption). The Red Cross recommends 3 days to evacuate and 2 weeks at home.
What we don't do
We haven't bench-tested these models ourselves; every figure is the manufacturer's published spec run through the maths above. We don't print prices, because they change often; the retailer's page always shows the current one.
Ready to size your own setup?
Open the calculator